La Roque Gageac Testimonials

From previous Guests:

What a beautiful place to stay while exploring the southwest of France. The house was beautifully appointed with great amenities and plenty of space for our party of 7 people. The house is well equipped and beautifully appointed. It has all the charm of a bygone era with all the modern touches. La Roque is a picture perfect town and the shops and restaurants provided everything we needed. Helene, on the next level up from the house supplied us with wine and gourmet treats and Chef Dimitri came and prepared 2 exceptional meals for us. We had a wonderful time exploring castles, caves, spent a day in Bordeaux and drove through the gorgeous country visiting towns and villages. I can't wait for my next visit!

Linda Seal Beach, CA - October 2015

Le Bourg was the perfect base for our family get-together, with three generations travelling from Australia, UK, Canada and USA to be there. Everyone agreed that we had chosen a great location; the house exceeded our expectations and we could not have wanted more. It is a beautiful retreat, homely, comfortable and thoughtfully decorated, with plenty of space to relax and enjoy the surroundings, and a well equipped kitchen and modern bathrooms. Quality linen on the comfy beds. Reliable wi-fi. Chef Dimitri made us a superb meal, and Helene at Lou Castelou close by was very helpful recommending wines. The house is situated right in the village close to shops, restaurants, the river and canoes, and walking tracks. An enclosed entry courtyard and vine-covered terrace provide pleasant outdoor space. The house is on 3 levels with two flights of narrow winding stairs to the upstairs and downstairs bedrooms - no problem for our team (from 2 to 70 years!) but could be a challenge for less able individuals. There are lots of interesting historical sights and towns within easy driving distance, and activities for all ages. We spent a delightful and memorable 3 weeks and the owner was very helpful providing information and suggestions during our holiday planning and preparation.

Ruth, Allistonville, Australia - August, 2015

My husband has always wanted to visit La Dordogne and I have long wanted to visit the Lascaux Caves. We were fortunate in finding the Stonehouse, a refurbished mediaeval house on the banks of the Dordogne River. Booking was trouble free, assisted by Kitty, the Host, who responded immediately to the many enquiries we made about the house, the route, availability of car parking, supermarkets, places of interest, etc etc. The house itself is stunning although, like most guests, we spent much of our time on the vine clad terrace. The house has been beautifully renovated, carefully maintaining many of the original features, which was very attractive to our group who felt it was a privilege to experience living in a property with such character and history. La Roque de Gageac is breathtaking. If you are up to it the walk up and around the cliffs is arduous but very beautiful. The Lescaux Caves were awesome, the Troglodyte Fortress and City, the largest in the world, equally so. There are numerous Chateux worth visiting and the river boat ride a must as is Sarlat, a nearby mediaeval town.

Patricia, Nottingham, United Kingdom - June, 2015

My best friend and myself rented this lovely, rustic French country home for two weeks to celebrate our 70th and 75th birthdays with our adult children and their spouses. Le Bourg, the village and surrounding area could not have been more spectacular. Relaxing in front of the fireplace or sharing wine and great family stories on the wonderful terrace, it doesn't get much better than that. There's a view from every window that most of the time takes your breath away. Much to do and we did most of it. Riverboat tour, hiking, canoeing and exploring many historical castles. House equipped with anything one would need. Getting the chef is a must. The best meal we had in France. Inn keeper, Anne was a delight. The best way to experience and enjoy the French country side. We will be back.

Davia, Pittsburg, PA - May, 2015

We had an amazing time at the house. It's a gem set in an idyllic town along a quiet river. We relaxed at home, cooked dinner and had the chef come in, had wine on the deck overlooking the river scene below. It's a welcome retreat at the end of days of exploration. There are lots of activities in close proximity; we hiked, museums (prehistoric is world class), castles, boating, farmers markets - and more.

Lori, Santa Maria, CA - Oct, 2014

I love the house, the location, the ambiance, the amenities and the entire experience. I have returned 7 times with friends and family members and have a new and wonderful experience each time. We have a favorite chef who comes to cook and we explore the local markets and taste fresh local products. There are caves and castles to explore and the view of the Dordogne is wonderful. I cannot say enough about the wonderful memories we have staying in this charming old comfortable home on the side of a rock!

Nancy, Lodi, CA - June, 2014

This was our second trip to this lovely home and even though you think you can't go back again, this proves you can!! The house was just as we remembered, though now able to to accommodate 4 couples, which we were. The kitchen was the focal point, (one special meal which Dimitri brought to us and cooked, I highly recommend him), with all the amenities we needed to prepare meals and relax after canoeing, biking and almost hot air ballooning. Just seeing the balloons pass by the patio area was incredible!! This time, the owners, Kitty and Dave were there to greet us, give us additional tips and share a bottle of wine with us. They obviously love their home away home and love to share it with others, so take the gift and rent it whenever you can, I know we will again next year!!

Mike and Judi, Reston, VA - April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed 'Le Borgue' as well as the remarkable surroundings. The house is charming and comfortable with windows to open to the breeze and beautiful views from all. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and cooking utensils, the bedding and towels are fine and the bathrooms are very nice. We loved the thick walls, the grape covered trellis over the terrace, and the courtyard. Le Roque-Gageac is fascinating with stone houses built into the cliff. We found the town's people to be pleasant and helpful. Early each morning we walked to the bakery to buy delicious butter and chocolate croissants for breakfast. Kitty was most helpful with suggestions for nearby visits that were fun for all of us, ages 10 to 69. It was especially nice that most things were no more than 15 kilometers away. Dimitri prepared a wonderful meal for us with a chocolate dessert that was over the top. It was the best meal we had in France by far. Dordogne Valley is striking with the Dordogne River meandering through the orchards, fields of sunflowers, stone buildings and castles. There is a great variety of nearby things to do.

Susan, Carpinteria, Ca. - August 2013

The house is perfect! There was plenty of room for 4 adults and 4 teenagers. All the comforts from home! There are so many castle's and villages close by that there was no need to travel far. The river itself offers many activities and gorgeous views. We kayaked and hot air ballooned over the river and the sunflower fields. We chose to dine in often on local cheese, meats, fresh fruits and vegetables from the local markets. We also brought up from the restaurant below delicious salads. Everyone's favorite part was the evening dinners on the patio. We would play games and talk about our day with amazing views of the river. Lastly, Kitty and Dave spent many hours helping us plan our trip. They helped us not only with La Roque but they gave us tips on Paris and other helpful travel arrangements. I would highly recommend this house to anyone. It is worth it!

Right above the house, less than a 1 min walk, is a wine shop and gelato shop. Don't miss out on either of them. It is a must to go to Sarlat,to the market. Taste everything! You will be happy you did. Make sure you have dinner in Domme and enjoy the fantastic views. There are so many amazing sites! Again! Kitty and Dave you were wonderful! Your house is fabulous! Thanks for the great family memories!

Maribeth, Santa Maria, Ca. - July 2013

After reading the reviews about Le Bourg, our family of 3 generations had high expectations. These expectations were surpassed. Our daughter, who spent a year in school and later led bike tours through France, sat on the terrace and said "if I do nothing but sit here, this will be lovely".

We biked, canoed & kayaked, visited gardens and castles and the lovely villages of Sarlat and Domme. And, of course, the highlight our our stay was two evenings where chef Dimitri prepared two meals which were served on the terrace. We even gave him credit for arranging the hot air balloons that appeared between courses as "entertainment"! Please relay to him how much we enjoyed and appreciated him.

We also enjoyed receiving some instructive, corrective & interactive advice from one of the locals on how to play Boule. Another highlight was watching or daughter conversing and receiving a gift of a lemon from the elderly gentleman next door (priceless!).

The house was perfect and had everything we needed, but the views from the terrace both relaxed and invigorated us at the same time. Spectacular!

Thank you, Kitty & Dave, for all your sharing your home with us and for your assistance and guidance in what to do and how to do it! Our week together was the best a family could ask for.

Gratefully, Nancy & Tom & family, Minnesota - June 2013

This was our second trip to Le Bourg, Dave and Kitty's marvelous country French home on the banks of the Dordogne River. Being francophiles we are always very excited about travelling to France but going back to La Roque made our hearts skip a beat. We love the peace and tranquility of being in such a lovely roomy home overlooking the winding Dordogne River. One night while preparing dinner and enjoying a glass of wine we looked out the kitchen window over the river to see a beautiful site... a hot air balloon gently floating by just grazing over the river. Other days were spent watching the barges or "gabarres" floating down the river as they have been doing for centuries. We rented bikes from aquitaine Bike rental who deliver them to the house and enjoyed the routes mapped out for us in the lovely countryside. There is a dedicated bike path close by in Castlenaud where one can ride for miles and view the lovely villages and streams without being bothered by cars or trucks or one can be more adventurous and travel on the road to medieval bastide towns. There is plenty of siteseeing closeby... Sarlat, Domme, Castlenaud, Beynac and of course the wonderful prehistoric cave sites... so one is never bored. Please have Dimitry come and prepare a 4 star meal for you!! Also, eat at La Belle Etoile in La Roque and Les Esplanades in Domme. You will be so happy that you did!! We look forward to returning to La Roque again and again!!

Beth, Decatur, Illinois - April 2013

The only bad thing about Le Bourg was having to leave - what a wonderful holiday house - it clearly shows that you take much pride in presenting such a wonderful house. What can we say - the house was wonderful; the location was perfect; Le Bourg and La Roque-Gageac is full of so much history. The surrounding towns and many of the chateaus are so full of history and beauty and all within a short easy drive from La Roque-Gageac. We were sorry that we had not booked Le Bourg for 2 weeks instead of just the one - there was so much else that we could have visited but simply ran out of time. At least that gives us an appetite to go back to Le Bourg.

The evening meals prepared by Chef Dimitri also added to our special memories of Le Bourg, particularly having dinner on the terrace and overlooking the Dordogne River. We can highly recommend Dimitri to anyone intending to stay at Le Bourg.

To sum up our time at Le Bourg there is only one word - the location, the beauty of the region and chef Dimitri - wonderful. Kitty's help and advice prior to our stay was just great - all emails were responded to immediately and nothing was too much trouble - thanks Kitty.

We are independent Aussie Travelers and have stayed in many holiday homes around France and Italy - Le Bourg was one of the best - congratulation Kitty and thanks for the opportunity to stay at your wonderful home.

John & Pauline - Adelaide, South Australia - 2012

Our stay at "Le Bourg" in La Roque-Gageac was the most wonderful week my wife and I have ever experienced. The village of La Roque was unbelievable, the weather was fantastic, the house (Le Bourg) was to die for. Kitty's home is located on the cliff, a short hike (with stairs) above the village and features probably the best private terrace in the area. We enjoyed sitting with our glass of wine and meal nightly, overlooking the Dordogne River and greeting the tourists as they passed by with jealousy, wondering how we acquired such an exquisite setting. The interior of this 700 year old stone house has been totally modernized and did not lack any comforts whatsoever. My wife said that she has never slept better in the master bedroom and bed. The kitchen was perfect and it was nice to have a washing machine at our disposal. I hope you get the chance to experience this exceptional home, with an attentive host, in the most beautiful area you will ever see in France.

Bruce and Joanne SLO, CA - 2012
Our favorite

spot by far on our three week vacation in France and Spain was your wonderful vacation home in Dordogne! Even with the rain. We didn't let anything stop us from exploring castles, gardens, caves, towns, open air markets, and the beautiful countryside. We just put on our rain gear and took off! The home was perfect! Warm and comfortable and in a terrific location. Dimitri came to the house and cooked us a fabulous dinner - very creative and delicious! Helen is a treasure! We visited her often for wine recommendations. What a wonderful experience! Thank you for all of your recommendations, and thank you for opening your home to us and introducing us to this beautiful location. I know we'll be back.

LA - April 2012
We LOVED your house and LaRoque and the area. What a great combination of sights and activities ... a bit of canoeing and biking to counterac

t Dimitri and the dangerously located wine shop (where the "Kitty discount" was an unexpected benefit!), awe-inspiring cave art at Font de Gaume, castles, beautiful villages, etc., etc. We spent the only rainy day of our week exploring the Cahors region, visiting a few small wineries along the Lot, which was really interesting and fun. But I think the best thing of all was our end-of-day ritual of sitting on your terrace, wine in hand, reviewing the day and sharing many laughs.

Nancy -May 2011
We had a gre

at 4 weeks in France. Le Bourg is just beautiful. You've done an outstanding job decorating it. The sheets, pillows/chenille and furniture were all top of the line-sorry we could only use one bedroom. What a great place for a big group or number of couples. Pierre and Sarah were great and we bought quite a bit of wine and other local goodies from them. The weather was warm when we first arrived and then cooled a bit. Also loved the free telephone. We went to a number of gardens as Diane is a member of the La Jolla Village Club and really enjoyed that. The market at St. Cyprien was one of the best of our trips. Went to a number of castles and chateaus plus great wine tasting and food as usual. Thanks again for sharing Le Bourg. It is truly a very special place. Hope to do it again another trip.

Rich and Diane La Jolla, CA - May 2011

My family of 5 stayed in La Bourg in the middle of a world trip that ultimately included 16 countries. We scheduled our stay at Kitty's place based mostly on descriptions and reviews here. Out of the entire trip, our stay in La Roque Gageac ended up being a top 3 pick for each person in my family. It really was that nice. The house is right in the middle of La Roque Gageac, just a few steps up from the parking lot. The rooms have fair views of the river, and there's a nice deck covered in a grapevine trellis where you'll likely enjoy most of your meals. The rooms were spacious, and the beds were as comfortable as any we found on our entire trip. My family slept very well here. The upstairs bathroom was especially nice, and the kitchen big enough for preparing any meals we wanted, which we did pretty often. Fast internet connection and phone service were a definite bonus. The house was really all we could have asked for. But to be honest, we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the house. The real attraction here is the Dordogne River valley: Cave paintings, medieval castles, local fresh fruit markets, canoeing, gardens, farms---it's all here in spades. We could easily have spent 3 weeks here if we didn't already have reservations in Paris. A few recommendations: 1) Get at least one meal with Dmitri, or even two if you can afford it. My son actually said while savoring his duck "I don't deserve food this good!". 2) The patisserie at the end of town has fantastic croissants, but don't get there late or you'll be out of luck. They also have pretty good baguette sandwiches if you're heading out for the day. You can't go wrong loading up there. 3) Canoes Roquegeoffre was our choice for canoeing. We would have gone with them on several days if we didn't have so much to do in all the surrounding countryside. 4) Definitely take advantage of all the nearby farmer's markets, which operate on a rotating schedule. This is how we got a lot of our fresh fruit. 5) Visit Sara in the wine shop 30 feet from the house. She hooked us up with our new favorite wine. 6) The supermarkets in Sarlat are only 10 minutes away by car, and a great source for general food supplies. We were only at La Bourg 3 days when we began making plans to return, figuring out who we'd invite to join us, etc. As long as you're there in the right season, you simply can't go wrong with this place. Plus, Kitty is a total pro as an owner and a host.

John F. - April 2011

Well, I don't know where to start. After a VERY long drive from Paris to LaRoque on Sat., Aug. 7 we finally arrived in town shortly befo

re dark and located the house. We were really frazzled by the drive down, but as soon as we turned the corner at the west end of town and saw LaRoque we were rewarded with a vision that we will never forget. My heart took a leap as there in front of us was a beautiful medieval village built into the side of a rock cliff with the river running right in front of it. All the stress of a 10 hour drive was erased in that moment and so our wonderful vacation began.

Kitty, I know you've heard this so many times already, but your house is just amazing. It was probably more than we were expecting and your photos just can't convey the feeling of spaciousness and charm that is felt throughout. What a joy it was to awake in the morning and catch the balloons rising over the river just as the sun was starting to blanket the village and the river. I began to anticipate the balloons each morning and would jump from bed as soon as I heard the whoosh of the fire as the pilot would steer them close to the river and on some days close to the house. I waved to the passengers and they waved back - it was thrilling just to be at the bedroom window at that time.

Breakfast and dinner on the patio were often the highlights of the day. It is such a warm and comfortable spot and the views are really lovely. The grapes were pretty tasty too. Our two evenings with Dimitri were absolutely wonderful. What a talented chef and on the first date he brought his son Alexi with him. A beautiful 10 year old boy celebrating his birthday by helping his dad create our first wonderful dinner. We enjoyed it so much that we booked him for another evening.

I'm sure Sara and Pierre at the wine shop were sorry to see us go. We are avid lovers of wine and shopped there everyday of our stay. They have a lovely shop and were very helpful and friendly presenting us with little gifts each time we stopped into the shop. Every evening we enjoyed a little pate (thanks to their generosity) along with our wine. It was a revalation to me that French wine not only is more consistently good and less expensive than the wines made here in the U.S., but I never got a headache from drinking them. I almost always get a headache when drinking wines made here. I'm a French wine convert. California will have to go a long way to catch up as far as I'm concerned.

Many evenings we were content to hang out down at the petanque courts practicing with the game sets you provided, and about a week into the vacation Barry and Jorge were playing with some of the French vacationers. It was great to see that the language barrier was non-existent as they seemed to communicate just fine regardless. A good time was had by all and we felt like we belonged.

We confirm that two of the restaurants you and some of your previous guests recommended were excellent. We had dinner at both Belle Etoille in town and at Petite Paris in Daglan (which sounds like it belongs in Ireland) and enjoyed them very much. Most lunches and dinners were out, but we did manage to cook a couple of times and loved working in the spacious kitchen. There's nothing better than a well-equipped kitchen and you have certainly provided that. The markets were amazing, but after the Sarlat market I think we had seen it all and tried to steer clear on market days of the towns to avoid the heavy traffic. It's quite unbelievable the steady stream of traffic along that two lane roadway along the river from town to town. And just as unbelievable how it disappears right around dinner time.

Kitty, I could go on and on about how wonderful a time we had. Le Borge was our anchor and from there we traveled out to the many wonderful towns and villages of the Dordogne. None of us had ever been to that part of France before and we fell in love. It's so heartening to see that somewhere in the modern world there is still a great value placed on the past. We were surprised that we never saw a highrise building or tract development anywhere in the region. The charm of the area is enhanced by the warmth of the people. Nowhere did we ever encounter the type of disdain that once greeted American tourists in France.

Several of our friends have asked for your website after hearing about our vacation, so I wouldn't be surprised if you didn't hear from them sometime in the coming year. There are so many places in the world to explore, and one big vacation a year hardly provides enough time to get to them all so I never think about going back to anywhere I've already been. However, in this case it feels different. I feel like I've found one of the places I'll always hold in a special part of my heart and would like to think that I'll be back someday. You'll be the first to know.

Beverly, New Jersey - August 2010

The views from the living and the master bedroom windows overlooking the Dordogne River with a glass of French wine was beyond description.

It looked like wonderful painting. A special treat were watching the hot air balloons!

The terrace with an arbor of grape vines was divine. Watching and hearing the tourists was exciting. Once again the view of the river was terrific.

The kitchen was exceptional with plenty of space with a long French country table. It was appointed with all of the implements necessary for cooking plus plenty of wine glasses.

Babs & Tom, Louisanna - May 2010

We rented Le Bourg in 2010, for 2 weeks (May 29 - June 12). We were a family group of 4 adults and 1 child of 18 months and were delighted wi

th our whole experience there. First of all, the house was lovely throughout - a kitchen that just has everything and is large enough to have several people working together as well as a great table for dining. Also dining available of the great patio, overlooking the Dordogne River. The location is just perfect for exploring the Dordogne area and there are so many destinations for day-tripping. As well, you are in the centre of a lovely town, strung along the river with shops and restaurants to walk to. The scenery is spectacular and we thoroughly enjoyed the river cruise. The bedrooms, 2 up and 2 down, are very comfortable and the arrangement makes for a great deal of privacy in each bedroom area. We had a chef come in near the end of our stay and prepare a wonderful dinner that was indeed amazing as well as of very good value. On looking back, we probably should have had Demitri more than once!! We would not hesitate to recommend Le Bourg and as a matter of fact have already done so to several of our friends. Kitty is a wonderful help and is ready to answers all questions and does so with alacrity. The whole area of the Dordogne has so much to offer. We enjoyed the local markets, huge one in Sarlat (Saturdays), the castle in Baynac, the wonderful scenery of Domme, the cave paintings of Lescaux, beautiful Rocamadour and SaInt Cirque La Poppie - all wonderful day trips, and went to a great restaurant in Daglan - not to be missed. We found that the bakery right in town had delicious baguettes and croissants which we enjoyed every morning! All in all, Le Bourg gets very high marks.

The Blake Family, Toronto, Ontario, Canada - June 2010

Knowing only that we wanted to spend two weeks in Dordogne, and having never been there before, I researched the internet offerings un

til I happened upon “Le Bourg” in La Roque-Gageac. I fell in love instantly with the pictures of the house and the village, and nothing else would do after that. We booked our two weeks and anticipated our visit for nearly a year. I admit that I was afraid of being disappointed because our expectations were so high.

Au contraire, the area exceeded our expectations, and the house was delightful. We were astounded and charmed as we wandered from place to place, just amazed at the beauty that we encountered everywhere. We loved the villages, the markets, the castles, and the rivers; and the people were kind and helpful.

We especially enjoyed the terrace of the house, and I would stare out of the window in the “lounge” and feel so lucky to spend two weeks in such a spectacular setting.

Our group consisted of five people—all over 55—three siblings and two spouses. We had more than enough elbow room and could have easily accommodated one or two more vacationers.

We highly recommend both the area and the house. You won’t be disappointed.

Linda and Don, Fayetteville, GA

La Roque was fabulous! Jim and I plus my sister spent the first three days of our vacation in Paris. We stayed one night in Amboise so w

e could tour the Loire Valley. La Roque then became our home base for almost two weeks. The house was charming, and we loved being on the Dordogne River. The grapevine covered terrace became our favorite spot to enjoy breakfast in the morning and some lovely French wines in the evening. We took many wonderful day trips to nearby medieval castles, towns, and abbeys including Chateau de L'Herme, the "cursed chateau." Our youngest daughter and a friend joined us for one week before continuing on to Germany. They enjoyed the canoeing and horseback riding along the river. One of our favorite sights was the hot air balloons that drifted over the valley each day. We saw some spectacular lightning at night too! Thanks again.

Jeanne, Costa Mesa, Ca

I can't say enough wonderful things about your home. We have a guesthouse in Woodstock Vermont that we rent out on a weekly and per diem bas

is and I only wish that our guests could ever have as magical a week as we had in your place. It was a great respite for us-our older daughter (almost 17) had been in Aix for 3 weeks and after our visit, in Paris for all of July, so getting to hang out on your terrace and prepare meals with her was utter joy. We had perfect weather-quite warm and sunny the whole time-and were able to canoe, explore the caves and nearby towns, etc. We all found the house utterly charming and delightful-you've furnished it so beautifully, with such great modern amenities and yet all the old charm. Just wish we could spend more time there! If ever you find yourselves in Vermont, I hope you'll let us know.

Amy and Jacques, Chestnut Hill, MA

We had a great time, as did all of our guests. Your house is wonderful. We had three ot

her couples come for a week each at varying times, but at one point all four bedrooms were filled and still it didn't seem overcrowded. The two-down, two-up, middle-for-living arrangement is terrific, and the terrace became our living space of choice. It's a great area, really too much to see in only two weeks, and is a fun little town (even has its own market now on Fridays!!) so I know we'll return.

Wayne V., New Haven CT

We loved your house. It was all we could have imagined and the little town of La Roque was just delightful. Everywhere we

turned in the area we found similar beautiful villages and glorious views. None of us had ever spent much time in the rural areas of France before so we were constantly wide-eyed at the sheer loveliness of the countryside. We have oceans of photos. My special favourites were the poppies that were flowering all over the place - we have the Flanders poppy as a symbol of peace and remembrance in Australia so they are particularly meaningful to us. And now we are back with all of our fabulous memories. Without exception, the French people were very kind to us wherever we went. In fact they mostly went out of their way to help us, which was very necessary at times as my French was the best of our group and it is very ordinaire indeed!

I want to say thank you for your interest in our stay and also for your assistance over the months prior as we waded through the administrivia associated with exchanging money. It was very much appreciated. We would love to come back one day for another stay.

v

We would go back in a minute if we didn't have to fly :-). We had a great time. The house is wonderful as is the town and the area. We went to the St. Cyprian market on Sunday and had a great time, particularly at the Roti Chicken vendor, where we got the best chicken and pork and potatoes. We found out the Artisanal-Beer vendor was originally from Ireland. We took the boat ride, and my brother and his wife went back for a second time. We ate at La Belle Etoile, which was superb. We also ate at Petit Paris in Daglan (thanks for steering us there!) In Les Eyzies we ate at the Auberge de Museum - very high-end and excellent and at the Vieux Moulin, ditto. We even ate at the little pizza place on the corner of the turnoff to Castelnaud and had an excellent meal - Caroline had the hatchette and frites off the enfant menu and had to keep the rest of us from eating it. Other high points were the cave trips to Font de Gaume and Lascaux II, and the National Prehistory Museum in Les Eyzies. Also the Musée-Atelier du Trompe d?Oeil & Décor Peint in Perigueux. We also went to brocantes in Monpazier and Besse and an antiques show in Gourdon. And to the gardens Marqueyssac and Eryignac. And, of course, Sarlat! Now for the house. Everything worked fine. The kitchen is very useful and we had no problems fixing meals. The living room is very comfortable. We spent our evenings in there reading and watching Fashion TV. The bedrooms and bathrooms were fine. My wife and I were downstairs in the double bed and slept like logs. Same for my brother and his wife in the upstairs. We even went upstairs to try out their shower. The best part of the house for us was the terrace. It was a joy to sit out there and greet the passing tourists, who seemed shocked that there were actually people living in the village.

Again, thanks so much for the house.

Steve D., Pittsburgh, PA

....Friends and family spent two weeks in this gorgeous home. Huge rooms, lovely terrace overlooking the river, well designed to allow privacy, and beautifully decorated. It has every modern convenience you could ask for!

It exceeded our expectations in every way! Everyone agreed this was the best vacation – ever! All because of this house. We can’t wait to go again.

The Carlyle’s Irvine, California - June 2007

Wow! What an ideal vacation spot. Kitty and Dave, thank you for sharing your home at La Roque Gageac. Both the town and the house are beautiful and quaint. You have done a beautiful job maintaining and stocking the house with all the necessary amenities. We felt like millionaires sitting on the terrace in perfect view of the Dordogne river, sampling the fine wines and cheeses purchased in our morning ventures to the nearby open markets. The house was a perfect base from which to explore the nearby countryside and visit castles and other historical points of interest. Your book describing and recommending places to visit was excellent along with all the other information such as emergency numbers, etc. Whether you want to stay busy playing tourist or just kick back and relax in a peaceful setting, this is the place. We chose both, venturing out each morning to experience the many interesting and beautiful towns recommended in your book which has a wealth of information, more places to see than we had time for in our one week that went by way too quickly. We enjoy traveling to new locations and seldom repeat going back to the same place; but the house at La Roque Gageac is an exception, we can hardly wait to go back!

Vic and Pat V., Bob and Roselena L.,Doug and Fay S., San Diego, California

I am sure you get this all the time, but your home was absolutely amazing. We reconnected with our beloved Belgian friends Pierre and Francine Van de Wattyne and their daughters Sarah and Julie of Ellezelles, Belgium. We all signed the book, but words cannot describe the fabulous time we had there. We walked shopped ate laughed paddled and stared with wonder. We learned enjoyed and looked dumb a bit too.

We loved the restaurant you suggested. The owner was so charming and the food delicious. We had our last full dinner there. Such a fitting tribute to a great time. Pierre and Francine had their socks knocked off at your home and they took a movie for their family to see as they did not think photos would do it justice. I must agree. One of Tom's (my husband) favorite pastimes was to sit on the terrace and be hated. You know like when you see beautiful people in amazing homes and you just want to 'hate' them. He was just so sure that sitting on the terrace sipping local wine and munching on foie gras would make him 'hated' by the tourists who walked by. My French took a turn for the better as well. We are beat, but filled with unbelievable memories of your fairy tale retreat on the Dordogne....thanks so much

Tom Nancy and Shelby

Knowing only that we wanted to spend two weeks in Dordogne, and having never been there before, I researched the internet offerings until I happened upon “Le Bourg” in La Roque-Gageac. I fell in love instantly with the pictures of the house and the village, and nothing else would do after that. We booked our two weeks and anticipated our visit for nearly a year. I admit that I was afraid of being disappointed because our expectations were so high.

Au contraire, the area exceeded our expectations, and the house was delightful. We were astounded and charmed as we wandered from place to place, just amazed at the beauty that we encountered everywhere. We loved the villages, the markets, the castles, and the rivers; and the people were kind and helpful.

We especially enjoyed the terrace of the house, and I would stare out of the window in the “lounge” and feel so lucky to spend two weeks in such a spectacular setting.

Our group consisted of five people—all over 55—three siblings and two spouses. We had more than enough elbow room and could have easily accommodated one or two more vacationers.

We highly recommend both the area and the house. You won’t be disappointed.

Linda and Don, Fayetteville, GA USA

Our family of 5 plus our babysitter stayed at Le Bourg the first week in April 2008 and found it to be perfect: a very traditional, charming, authentic French stone house with all the amenities and a great view! Although the weather was chilly, the owners had firewood ready for us to build a cozy fire with, and we loved cooking in the kitchen. We found the location an excellent spot to explore the rest of the Dordogne: Sarlat, Domme, Rocamdour, the pre-historic sites--all were within easy driving distance. I would come back in a hearbeat, and highly recommend it--if you are a family you simply will not find a better spot from which to explore the Dordogne.

Brian, Seattle, WA

We have spent two wonderful weeks in La Roque Gageac at your house. I think we have done almost everything there is to do and then some. Our best friends were with us for the first week and then our son and daughter and significant others joined us for the second week. Lots of laughs and good food, wine, and cheese. Thanks for sharing your home with us - you have done a great job of renovating it and I know it must have taken quite a while and lots of headaches. But they were all worth it.

Jerry and Lucinda, Palos Verdes Estates, CA

This is one the most beautiful villages I have ever seen. La Roque Gageac, 'the miraculous rock' is a magical place and this home is part of the magic. We stayed here for nearly two weeks and our experience was one of our best ever. You definitely feel at home here. It is charming, comfortable, well equipped, and functions very well with a group of people.The patio is a great spot to relax, read, and have a glass of wine while you talk about the day. The location is excellent. There are so many things within walking distance like restaurants, bakery, grocery, kayaks, canoes, hiking, fishing, bocce ball, picnics, or just relaxing at the park along the river. The history in the area is incredible including a variety of castles, caves, villages, gardens and more. We thoroughly enjoyed the people, places, food and the accommodations. It is a special place and it quickly becomes your home away from home.